Thursday, October 27, 2011

Release of Expense, The Spencer Nye Trilogy #2!

I'm excited to present the second book of the Spencer Nye Trilogy, Expense, which is now available on Amazon.com and BN.com!

For fans of Suspense, I think this book will provide a whole new dimension to our understanding of who Spencer Nye is, what her friends are like, and what makes up the world she lives in, one she's absolutely turned upside down. There'll be more action, more sparks, and more glimpses into a future world where the things we know about how people use technology have been taken to even greater lengths.

And, as always, great thanks goes out to the readers who have given me the time to work on these books. I hope you find something that resonates with you within these pages!

Thursday, October 20, 2011

The Sequel to Suspense, Expense, coming soon!

Alright folks, this is your one-week warning. We're getting close to the release of the second book in the Spencer Nye Trilogy, Expense, which will continue the series with tons more action, craziness, and revelations!

The response to Suspense continues to be amazing, and I think this second book is going to get an even tighter grip on readers. A lot's changed in the world in the aftermath of Spencer's struggles in the first book, but if there's one thing you can count on, those struggles aren't going to go down without a fight.

Stay tunes for the release announcement, and thanks to everyone who's picked up the series!

Sunday, September 25, 2011

What Are Reviewers Saying About Suspense?

I have to admit it's been a lot of fun reading reviews for Suspense over the past couple weeks. Whether it's the action, the window into the future of social networking, or the characters and the story, it seems like everybody has found something that resonated with them. That's what this trilogy is all about, and as I get down to work on the sequel, I wanted to make sure I've got a good handle on why people feel the way they do about the story.

I think the reviewers said it best in their own words:

Aeicha at her blog, Word Spelunking, says: "This book is truly a page turner…seriously, I read it in one sitting and every time I told myself “Just one more chapter”, I’d get to the end of that chapter and something exciting would happen and I’d have to keep reading to find out what happens next…and this kept happening until I finished the book and realized it was about 5am and I stayed up all night just to read it."


Jackie at My Tower of Books says: "Spencer Nye is such a likable, yet flawed, heroine. She doesn't always make the right choices but her heart is in the right place. Plus, I like a character that isn't afraid to stop asking questions and kill the bad guys already! Spencer's romantic interests seem pretty clear cut when you first start reading, but take an unexpected and awesome turn! Original and crazy!"


Grace on her MotherLode blog says: "As soon as I started the book I realized we were in a different world than I know, with the personal nodes, the connect system, and the idols. I love how this world was implied rather than explained, and I gradually figured out what made this world tick. The idea of Connect, sending messages simply by thinking and finding the information you needed in front of your eyes in a split second, was really easy to visualize yet unimaginable at the same time. I really liked the creativity in creating this futuristic world that is still really relatable, and I could picture us here in another hundred years."


Well said! A thrilling story, a thought-provoking world, compelling characters. I've been lucky enough to get it right for these reviewers and I hope plenty more people are feeling the same way.


I'll also note that we're 2 weeks from the end of Suspense's grand prize Kindle/Nook giveaway! If you haven't heard about it yet, check out the giveaway tab on our Facebook page!


Suspense, the first book in my new YA (16+) Dystopian trilogy can be found at Amazon, BN, itunes, and Smashwords! The paperback version is out now too!




Monday, September 5, 2011

Suspense Release and Kindle/Nook Giveaway!


Suspense, the first book in my new YA (16+) dystopian trilogy is now available on Amazon  and BN.com!

Just as exciting, I'm pleased to announce that early readers of Suspense will be eligible to win a new Kindle Wifi or Nook Touch, as well as other great prizes! All of you have to do is read the book and answer 4 simple questions by Oct. 9th. All of the details and questions can be found on the giveaway tab of my facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/authorjasonletts

Here's the description of Suspense.

Spencer Nye can't control the rage bubbling under her skin over the world around her. The trouble is, by the year 2102, the world has solved most of its great problems. Without hunger, war, greed, or even money, people obsess over the glamour of the Culture Industry and its mega-celebrity Idols, who vie for followers over the social networks of Connect.

But Spencer discovers there is plenty to fix within the Idols' competition for more popularity. She becomes a diehard and promises to do anything to help her Idol, a dreamy movie star named Cleary Mintz, bring his vision of hope and purpose to the world. When she stumbles onto a threat against his life, she'll have to fight harder than she ever thought possible or lose the man who means more to her than any other.

The story is a bit more adult than others I've written before, and so it's recommended for readers age 16& up. I'm very excited about the story though, which is full of action. Hopefully you like it too, and maybe that'll mean a new Kindle or Nook for you. Thanks for reading!

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Bar Harbor Vacation Spectacular II

It's becoming sort of a family tradition that we rent a house over in Maine for a week in August to see each other, relax, and get out into the outdoors a bit. We had a great time last year, and for all I've been doing this past month I've definitely deserved it. Suspense is all but done, and we'll get the release underway as soon as I get back. I've also been getting together plans for an audio version with an old friend of mine, plus getting the house ready for my incoming housemates. I've been pounding away at the sequel to Suspense, Expense too, and I'm halfway through, which was definitely my goal for the month.

So now it's time to enjoy a little...


And hit the Precipice trail at Acadia National Park... (Yes, there are little bars there that you climb up. This trail is NOT for the faint of heart.)



Hopefully I won't be early enough to see any of this, but it'll be nice to get out kayaking in our little cove.


See you in September as we kick off a great fall!

Friday, August 12, 2011

Suspense: To Be Released September 9th!

After a hot summer full of furious typing, I'm very pleased to announce the upcoming release date of Suspense, the first book in a new YA (16+) dystopian trilogy named after the heroine, Spencer Nye!

Maybe this is something authors say a lot, but I have no doubt that this is the best piece of fiction I've written yet. If I've done my job, the action will hit you right away and won't let up until the very end.

To give you some idea about the future in which Spencer lives, imagine a world where everyone has enough. Food, things you need, things you want, they all come from a machine called a molecular synthesizer. If everyone has enough, crime would disappear, then police, then laws, then money, then war, then governments, and what would be left?

The answer is entertainment. The Culture Industry remains to provide people with movies, music, etc, and the focus of the world revolves around a group of mega-celebrities known as the Idols. These Idols compete for the only currency left that has any value, the currency of human affection, and they fight for popularity with more than just hit singles and blockbuster releases.

Spencer Nye is a diehard, more than just a fan or follower, and she's part of a small militant group that fights for an Idol named Cleary Mintz against diehards of the other Idols. Most people don't understand that the Idols are at war with one another, but Spencer does, and when she discovers a murder plot that threatens Cleary's life, she'll do whatever it takes to save the movie star she idolizes.

That's kind of functional as a rough description, isn't it? Hopefully the stuff we have planned for the release will be almost as exciting as the book. There'll be big ticket giveaways for Kindles/Nooks, Suspense cover skins for those devices, and signed copy and e-book giveaways on a number of great blogs. Here's hoping it's a big success!

New Blog!

As you can see, I've jumped ship from my old blog, which was attached to www.powerlessbooks.com, and I'm moving in here to jasonletts.blogspot.com . I'm hopeful that I'll be able to give readers more access to what's going on with my books, work, and life, while at the same time having an easier time keeping everything updated and current.

I'll be making individual pages for The Powerless Series and The Inevitable Trilogy, piling relevant news into those sections. The most recent development is that I've sold all 8 books to Turkish publisher ARVO Basim Yayin, and I'm excited to see the results of the translation process and the publication process as the books are released sequentially until January 2012. Exciting!

There will also be a page for The Spencer Nye Trilogy, as well as lots of news about that once we get a little closer to the release of Suspense around September 8th. There'll be big prize giveaways, book giveaways on a number of great blogs, and I'm hoping to get an audio version out there eventually.

Thanks so much for stopping by, and I hope you'll check back here for news and other cool stuff!